New SD Law Bans Cell Phones for Youngest Drivers; State Hopes to Limit Motor Vehicle Accident Injury
Industry media outlets are reporting that the state of South Dakota has recently implemented a new ban on cell phones for some teen drivers. But while those who understand the danger of distracted driving may be enthusiastic about this change to the state’s driving laws, some will also be surprised to know that it targets the 14 to 16 age range, a set of drivers that doesn’t even exist in most states.
South Dakota has the youngest legal driving age in the country. 14-year-olds in the state can get construction permits. By 16, drivers can graduate to less restricted driving permits.
The new law says a lot about the biggest dangers for residents of any state. It’s a reflection of safety agency statistics that show cell phone use and distracted driving as one of the most major risks for all age ranges, but especially for teens who have to manage mastering the fine art of driving while also handling new technologies responsibly. Along with peer pressure, inexperience, and emotional volatility, cell phone use is one of those aspects of the teen driving experience that is responsible for many roadside injuries and fatalities.
South Dakota a “Lower Risk” State?
Some who are looking at U.S. auto insurance rules and motor vehicle accident injury by state may not be surprised at more liberal driver’s license laws in a state like South Dakota that is consistently ranked as a lower premium state, partially based on its much lower population per square mile. However, the state of South Dakota does have competitive liability insurance requirements at $25,000 and $50,000 for bodily injury coverages, along with another $25,000 for personal property coverage. South Dakota may have a lower number of uninsured drivers than many states, and a lower risk in general, but its existing laws mean that it has a much bigger pool of young drivers operating on its roads, which invariably pushes up risk across the board. Articles like this one at USA Today promote the toughening of driver’s license laws for new drivers, just such measures as South Dakota has just implemented, but takes the issue a step further to ask if it might be a good idea to actually raise the age for driver eligibility.
South Dakota: Motor Vehicle Accident Injury Marketing, Care and Support Services
Having 14 to 16 year olds on the road means that South Dakota has to essentially support all of these younger drivers with effective care and representation when they are involved in car collisions or suffer motor vehicle accident injury. Medical professionals as well as mva injury marketing services and other industry related businesses need to understand what they’re up against in terms of the higher accident rates that go along with having teenagers behind the wheel. Even with these new laws, it’s crucial for South Dakota to keep an eye on auto accident liability for its young and old drivers alike.